Vicky Von Vicky was formed in 1996 from the remnants of Kingston based early 1990s indie band Trains of Winter. Trains of Winter was noted for opening for the likes of Sloan, hHead, The Bourbon Tabernacle Choir, Sons of Freedom, and National Velvet (mini-tour of 5 dates in 1992), among several others. Trains disbanded in 1994. In 1996, 3 of the 4 members (Paul Pasanen – drums, Rolston Miller – bass, Michael Wynn – vocals/guitar) reformed and Vicky von Vicky was born. Their ranks were completed with the addition of younger Wynn brother Chris on rhythm guitar.

In June of 1997, they recorded a self-titled 10 song album with Justin Deneau at his Electro Magnetic Studios, Toronto. Which was released later that year. Distributing it to their network of friends and fans alike. They went back into the studio in late 1999. This time they enrolled the help of Norm Barker from Studio 92 in Toronto. Finishing up recording in mid May, 2000, they released the album ‘Farmers & Artists’ on June 29th, 2000.

In late 2019, Vicky von Vicky re-released their earlier catalogue to various streaming services. They have also hinted that there may be new music coming in 2020, the 20th anniversary of Farmers & Artists.